Yandex direct daily budget. Manual bid management

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The time has come to clarify and highlight the money issue, which is usually talked about in vague language. In this article, we will tell you what the minimum depends on, how to calculate and save it, and how much you will have to pay for the RK in the end.

What determines the cost of advertising in Yandex.Direct

On fingers:

You set up the AC, wrote the ads, and launched the campaign. Every time a user clicks on your offer, the system deducts a certain amount from your account. The amount charged depends on the auction and does not exceed the maximum cost per click that you have set.

For beginners who have yet mastered the intricacies of assignment, automatic strategies are suitable. They will help save time on setting up and determining rates.

  • "Weekly click package" allows you to receive a certain number of clicks for a set budget. When setting up a strategy, specify the number of clicks that you would like to receive during the week. Direct will stretch your ad impressions for 7 days and will try to provide you with the desired number of clicks at the lowest cost.
  • Weekly Budget will help you get the most clicks for your budget. You will need to set a certain number of costs per week and indicate what result you would like to achieve in 7 days. The strategy will automatically select the most profitable ones to achieve your goal and display them in the Yandex.Direct interface every 15 minutes.
  • "Average cost per click" will allow you to get the maximum number of clicks per week. But the cost of the transition will not exceed the price you charge. This strategy is suitable for those advertisers who know how much they are willing to pay for the transition. The average cost per click is expressed in terms of weekly ad spend and the cost per click that is deducted per ad click. Minimum average price for the transition in Direct is 0.3 rubles. Setting less in the interface will not work. After the launch of the campaign, the system itself will begin to bid on key queries in such a way as to attract as many visitors as possible.

The cost of AC is calculated based on the average CPC and the total number of clicks. If you are using multiple keywords, then you must first calculate the cost of each of them, and then summarize the results.

Let's derive the simplest formula for calculating the cost of a campaign in Yandex.Direct.

SK = SSK * KK

  • SC is the cost of the campaign.
  • CCC is the average cost per click.
  • CC is the number of clicks.

Conventionally, this formula can be represented as follows.

I launch RK, get 1000 clicks at an average price of 20 rubles. The cost of my campaign is: 1000 * 20 = 20,000 rubles.

On fingers:

We take the average cost per click for one key phrase from the campaign. Multiply by the number of clicks on that keyword. We get the budget for the key phrase.

We add up the budget for all key phrases. We receive the budget of the Republic of Kazakhstan.

Let's summarize

Minimum budget in Yandex.Direct consists of three components:

  • click cost;
  • the number of clicks;
  • keys.

What is CPC

Cost per click is the amount of money you give to Yandex for someone clicking on your ad.

The cost of clicks in Yandex.Direct is not fixed. It is determined as a result of bidding between advertisers, which is called an auction. You can independently set the maximum amount that you are willing to pay per click.

Ad positions are calculated on the basis of bidding - whoever offers more, who has more CTR and quality coefficient, will get to the more attractive one.

Cost per click is affected by:

Seasonality of the offer

The request "Buy a scooter" is popular at the end of winter and at the beginning of summer. Competitive CPC during this peak is higher than in winter and autumn. Read and you will always be aware of user preferences.

Location

One of the most popular misconceptions is that places in special accommodation are more expensive than in guarantee. Actually it is not. Sometimes impressions in the 1st place of the guarantee (1st result after organic search) cost 2 and 3 times more than the impression in the 1st place of special placement (the very first line).

The final campaign budget depends not only on the cost of a click, but also on the number of clicks. And the CTR for ads at the beginning and end of the search results is different. Not all users scroll through the page, many do not reach the offers in the guarantee, so they click on the special placement.

It is definitely impossible to say that ads at the beginning of the issue are constantly clicked, and those located at the end are not paid attention to. All users have their own characteristics. To some, special placement seems like spam or viral links. Such users purposefully scroll to the guarantee, considering such offers more reliable.

What are the other pros and cons of different places placements you can read in our previous articles:

Advertising effectiveness

The higher your ad's CTR, the lower your cost per impression.

You can adjust the budget during the course of the campaign based on your performance metrics. To manage the cost of a click and control costs, you need to study Yandex.Direct reports. And to track the conversion - Metrica reports. How to work with Yandex.Metrica reports,

Quality indicators

These indicators are determined by Yandex itself. For advertisers, their nature, although largely mythical, is very important. They affect the increase or decrease in the cost per click.

Let's talk about some of them:

Domain Karma

Key relevance

The keyword you use must match the title of the ad. It is not necessary to cram the entire keyword into the title. A match of 2-3 words out of 5 is already good. Let's consider two examples of one ad for the query "Buy air conditioner with delivery".

The title should satisfy not only the system, but also users. Make announcements understandable, replace abstractions and enhancers with facts and figures.

An ad with the heading “Inexpensive air conditioners” can be followed by people for whom 15 thousand is expensive. They will see the price, they will leave, we will drain the money. Facts and figures help to make a cut of the desired target audience and form user expectations.

Page relevance

The key request should lead the user to a page with the service or product that you advertised. If a person clicks on an ad that sells china sets, then he should go to the page with tea sets, and not with dining rooms.

Remember to match the search intent to the content of the page.

An intent is a user need. The task that he implies by entering this or that phrase in the search bar.

Sometimes the intent is incomprehensible. Even if the phrase with which the user is trying to express his task is included in your SA.

How can this be:

We launched a campaign to sell services. The semantic core of the campaign contains the phrase "Buy services".

Here the user enters the request "Buy sets", sees our ad and goes to the page with table sets. And he needed tearooms. Rare guys will explore the site to find exactly tea, usually users close the page and return to the search results, and we get a refusal.

To reduce the number of bounces for such obscure queries, use sitelinks and cross-backlink campaigns.

How to calculate the minimum campaign budget in Yandex.Direct

The easiest way to determine how much money you need at the beginning of your journey is to use the Yandex.Direct budget forecast.

In the windows that appear, you will be prompted to decide on the display region (1) and upload a list of approximate key queries (2).

But to launch the campaign, you will need to collect a lot of keys. Read about it in one of our articles.

The final result of working with the budget calculation will be approximate, but sufficient to get an idea of ​​the possible cost of the campaign, click-through rate and bidding in a particular place. Read ours to understand all the intricacies.

But on this useful tools do not end.

Weekly budget in Yandex.Direct

The "Weekly Budget" strategy will allow you to set a limit on spending during the week and calculate the budget for the month ahead. This is convenient because you can immediately set a certain cost framework.

The system will allow you to set the maximum cost per click manually and offer you to use the "Maximum conversion by goal" technology. To do this, you will need to install a metric on the site, set goals for visitors in it, and associate it with the campaign.

Daily budget and total account in Yandex.Direct

What is a general account and why is it needed

This feature is enabled automatically for all new Yandex.Direct users. As soon as you register an account, this inscription will appear next to the tab with your campaigns.

Connecting a shared account is convenient for managing finances. You do not have to pay for individual campaigns, replenish the balance, track the amount of funds for each advertising campaign. Ad impressions will continue as long as there are funds in the general account.

It is very easy to replenish a single account on your own in the same ways as a regular RK: by receipt at the bank, through, by card, in cash using the payment code, Yandex.Money, using PayPal.

You can also enable auto pay. With automatic replenishment, the account balance will be replenished either from your wallet in Yandex.Money, or from bank card. But this option is available only to advertisers from Russia who pay for advertising in rubles.

Daily budget: why limit yourself

The daily budget limit is a function of Yandex.Direct. It allows you to spend a fixed amount per day on your ads. Yandex determined the minimum threshold for possible expenses at 300 rubles.

You can use the daily budget if you select " Manual control rates."

In the boxes you will need to specify the number of expenses per day and select the spending mode from two possible ones.

  • Standard. Set by default. If you choose it, then your ads will be displayed until the limit is exhausted.
  • Distributed. This mode will allow you to stretch the specified limit of funds for the whole day or for the period that you specify in the time targeting.

Calculations are made according to Moscow time, and you can change the limit no more than three times in 24 hours. Please take this into account if you are running a campaign in a different time zone.

Savings should also be reasonable, and by setting the budget for one day too low in Yandex.Direct, you run the risk of losing impressions, and therefore targeted visitors. Start with the minimum amount that Yandex.Direct can offer, and then adjust its size as the campaign works.

Proper use of strategies for working with funds in Yandex.Direct allows you to save money, while receiving a considerable response from the audience.

Availability robs your ads of untargeted impressions and clicks, reduces bounce rates, and has a positive effect on CTR.

They work as follows.

We are selling car tires and conduct ads on the request "Buy tires". We're not interested in showing ads to people who are looking for bike tires or medical tires. To show ads only target audience, add "bike" and "medical" to the list of stop words.

To better understand these things, read our article with a red button on the use of negative keywords, their collection and settings.

Minimum budget in Yandex.Direct: summing up

The price of the RK in Yandex is a variable and individual value. The cost of RK depends on the goals. For some, 2,000 transitions per day are not enough, but for others, 200 will do.

The minimum budget is influenced by the region, demand for a product or service, competition in a niche, and other factors that we have already talked about. Each of them either increases the cost of the campaign, or lowers it.

To name the exact amount that it will cost you to launch a campaign in Yandex.Direct, you need to find out the needs of the advertiser, preliminary analysis market, determine the audience coverage, form KPI and test the AC. And you can also refer to Semantics. Our online advertising specialists will help you create KPIs, calculate the budget and achieve profit.

There is a new tool - daily budget.

The tool allows you to avoid overspending on a campaign per day when you work with strategies with manual bidding.

The agency manager can enable the client campaign tool in the user settings. You need to select the option “Show the ability to limit the daily budget”, after that, in the campaign parameters, you will be able to set a limit.

The minimum budget that can be specified is $10. (300 rubles). When setting up, you can choose one of two modes of operation of the tool: standard or distributed.

Standard mode is set by default. In this mode, ad impressions run continuously and stop automatically as soon as the spending limit is reached.

In the distributed mode, the system tries to stretch the budget for the whole day or for the period selected in the time targeting. If there is not enough money for continuous impressions, ads will turn on and off periodically.

Pay attention to some features of working with a daily budget:

  • Days are calculated according to Moscow time;
  • You can change the budget amount no more than three times a day;
  • Impressions will continue even if the amount on the campaign account is less than the specified limit.

In this case, the daily budget is automatically equated to the account balance.

Important to know about your daily budget

If the ad campaign was active on the day that the daily budget is turned on or reduced, it could be a cost overrun. From the next day of the campaign, the set daily budget limit is guaranteed not to be exceeded.

It should also be borne in mind that the daily budget will not independently edit the bids in the advertising campaign, it exists only so that when using manual strategies it is possible to avoid overspending and set the upper bar for the daily expense after which the campaign ceases to be displayed (or stretch the fixed budget per day). Only automatic strategies, such as “weekly budget”, “average cost per click”, allow you not to edit bids, but these strategies do not guarantee that ads will be shown in special placement or guarantee, their goal is to get the maximum number of clicks in view of the given restrictions that the strategy imposes .

The most popular advertising platform Yandex.Direct has updated the Daily Budget mode, so that it helps advertisers stay in contact with an interested audience for the same money as long as possible. In other words, the updated "Daily Budget" is designed to provide an opportunity to balance actual expenses and the influx of advertising traffic.

The changes that have taken place consist of two parts. Each of them solves a specific problem with impressions.

How the updated Daily Budget works now

The internal algorithms of the Yandex.Direct advertising platform try to distribute the available cash throughout each specific day, taking into account the time targeting set by the advertiser, in order to increase the chances of advertisements to contact the target audience both in the morning and in the evening.

Instead of quickly spending the available funds and suspending the advertising campaign until the next day, the Yandex.Direct platform independently decides whether an ad will participate in the auction for each specific request from users.

At the same time, the algorithms are aimed at keeping ads in the field of view of the target audience throughout the day. Thanks to this, there are actually no really long pauses in the campaign.

How the updated Daily Budget will work in the near future

The Yandex.Direct advertising platform will automatically evaluate the statistics of the daily budget balance during the week. In this case, if the advertiser has such "reserve" funds, Yandex.Direct will automatically redistribute them to purchase additional clicks on the days when the advertising campaign is at its peak.


To be fair, it should be noted that exact date the implementation of this update in the work is not yet known.

In addition, it should be noted that the outdated version of the "Daily budget" option, within which the available funds were always spent as quickly as possible, and the advertising campaign was turned off immediately after that, will no longer be available for configuration and use.

As for advertisers who want to strictly adhere to the limits of the used budget within one day, they are recommended to use the "Distributed" mode of impressions. It implies that Yandex.Direct will not automatically redistribute available funds from inactive days to active ones. Thanks to this, daily spending simply cannot exceed the limit set by the advertiser.

In conclusion, it is worth recalling that a few days ago the Yandex.Direct platform . Now it will show bids that will allow the advertiser to attract a certain amount of traffic, and not to occupy a certain place in the search results, as it was before.

It is expected that the implementation of this approach will help advertisers to plan and allocate the available budget much more accurately.

For search campaigns, Yandex has updated the "Daily budget" option.

As it was before

Previously, by activating the "Daily budget" option, advertisers risked not getting more clicks at the right time. For example:

  • with the advent of a new day, the set daily spending limit could be spent within a few hours. As a result, advertising is no longer shown during the day;
  • on weekends, the opposite picture can be observed, campaigns spend their budget for the day not completely, losing potential customers on weekdays.

In many ways, these two facts indicated the need for changes, which we will talk about today.

How the "Daily budget" mode will work in Yandex.Direct

On the this moment There are two modes for the daily budget available in the interface:

  • standard;
  • distributed.

Standard

At the moment, the system, in order to increase the chances of interaction with your target audience at any time of the day, will try to distribute the budget for the day as evenly as possible.

When the set limit is nearing completion, Yandex.Direct will switch to budget optimization. The essence of the mode is to make an individual decision on displaying an advertisement for each user request. Thus, your advertisement will remain in view for the maximum possible time period during the day.

Soon advertising system will analyze your costs and if on one of the days it sees that you have not fully spent your budget, redistribute these funds to other days. For example, you have a daily budget of 1000 rubles, which is fully spent on weekdays. At the same time, on weekends, expenses do not exceed 500 rubles.

Noticing this, the system will carry over unused funds on Saturday and Sunday in order to use them during high activity on other days. At the same time, the average consumption per day will still not exceed the established limit of 1000 rubles.

Distributed

The name of the mode speaks for itself. When the "Distributed" mode is enabled, the advertiser's funds will be evenly distributed for the whole day or for the time period specified in the settings.

When the daily budget is not enough for continuous impressions, the corresponding advertisement is stopped and highlighted in the interface as paused. At the same time, when showing on high-frequency requests or at high rates, Direct does not guarantee uniform impressions, and the entire budget can be spent at the beginning of impressions.

We often hear from clients that they have tried this "Direct" of yours. Some spent all the money in 2 days, and not a single call. Others believe that Yandex Direct is a scam. Like, write off the money as they want. Well, or they think it's too expensive.

Therefore, many potential customers of LeadMachina consider advertising in Yandex. Direct too complicated, expensive and want to give it up. They spend tens of thousands of dollars every month on advertising that brings inappropriate traffic to the site.

Why are you draining budgets into Yandex. Direct

Many people think that to set up Yandex. Direct big mind is not necessary. Register an account, create a campaign, write ads, conquer the world. You can not change the settings - the default ones will do: Yandex itself recommends them!

More responsible clients read Help before starting, try to understand the description of various settings, do not understand anything and close it.

Someone watches special courses - for example, a new course for beginners in Direct directly from Yandex. It describes basic campaign settings. They are enough for you to run ads and start spending money. They are enough for Yandex to start earning on you.

But Yandex is not interested in you spending little on advertising. Therefore, he does not reveal the secrets of setting up effective campaigns, recommending that everything be left “by default”.

But you have me! I will tell you what settings you need to apply in campaigns in order to stop wasting advertising budgets and finally start buying targeted traffic.

Setup 1. Mobile bid adjustment

Advertisers love to buy traffic from mobile devices at the price of desktop ones. This error becomes especially tragic if it is inconvenient to use the site from phones and tablets. You buy full price visitors who come to the site ... and immediately leave it.

Check if the site is optimized for mobile using a special tool from Google. If not, reduce your click-through rate from those devices as much as possible. If it is optimized, look at the conversion rate and cost of a lead from mobile phones and adjust the bids accordingly.

In the campaign settings in Yandex. Direct in the “Bid adjustment” section, go to the “On mobile” tab, select “reduce” in the drop-down window, enter “50” in the adjacent field. The cost of a click from cellular will be halved. Unfortunately, you can't reduce your bid by 100% (prohibit impressions completely) in Yandex.Direct.

Setting 2. Advanced geographic targeting

A couple of months ago, advertisers promoting their services in a single region were surprised to find that they were buying traffic from all over the country. Thanks to Yandex and its extended geo-target, which launched automatically.

I'll give you an example. Suppose Fedor from Tver is looking for services in Kaluga - a taxi, a hotel, a bathhouse. It fills in Yandex the corresponding requests: “taxi Kaluga”, “Kaluga hotel”, “Kaluga bathhouse”. All these requests are included in your campaign targeting Kaluga.

Previously, Fedor did not see the ad, because he was physically in Tver. After the automatic launch of advanced geotargeting, ads were seen by customers from other regions, including Fedor.

It seems to be great, but there are two nuances:

  • firstly, not everyone needs clients from other regions;
  • secondly, the cost per click has increased due to increased competition.

In the campaign settings, uncheck the box next to "Advanced geographic targeting".

If you need clients from other regions, set up separate campaigns for them in Yandex.Direct. Advertise only for geo-referenced keywords (“Banya Kaluga”) so as not to attract inappropriate traffic.

Setting 3. Impressions for additional relevant phrases

When the ARF mode is enabled, Yandex shows ads for keywords with typos or transliterations. But to increase the coverage, Yandex adds both synonym queries and phrases that are close in meaning.

“Big boobs”, “buy big” and “mountain bike grease” - these are the added keys that the client we did bought traffic for. He sold, by the way, motor vehicles. How “close in meaning” it turned out is for you to judge. For some reason the client didn't like it.

This setting is especially destructive for online stores. Just imagine what intimate parts of the body your site will sell at the suggestion of Yandex!

Typically, DRF is used in campaigns with no large quantity keywords - to increase coverage. Much better in this case again with more low-frequency queries.

If the demand for your services is small (there are few keywords in Wordstat and their frequency is low), test the SRF with minimum expenses. In other cases, this option when setting up campaigns in Yandex. Direct, I advise you to turn it off.

Uncheck the box next to "Impressions for additional relevant phrases" in the campaign settings.

To calculate irrelevant clicks in your campaigns, look in Yandex.Metrica for queries that led customers from ads to your site.

Setting 4. Phrase auto-expansion

But we now understand that in fact it helps to spend more money for inappropriate traffic. The tool is automatically included in all new advertising campaigns. Kind, caring Yandex!

Setting 5. Calculation of prices by positions

Yandex determines the recommended CPC based on competitors' bids. When high bidding competitors stop ads (due to time targeting, daily limits budget), the recommended CPC is reduced. If you quickly track such changes and lower your bid, you can save a lot of money in Yandex. Direct.

If it is important for you to take the first position in Special Placement, use the tool carefully: you need to constantly track changes in rates. If you don't change rates on time, you will be left without traffic. To automate the process, use scripts based on the Yandex.Direct API.

In the advanced settings of the campaign, check the "ignore automatic stopped ads of competitors" checkbox next to the "Calculation of prices by positions" field. We used to shoot jackdaws - now we will put them!

Summary: how to optimize the budget of Yandex. Direct

  • adjust bids for mobile devices;
  • turn off advanced geographic targeting;
  • turn off impressions for additional relevant phrases;
  • do not use phrase auto-expansion;
  • when bidding, do not compete with disabled competitors' ads.

Now you know how not to spend your Yandex budget. Direct for inappropriate traffic. I am sure: if you apply these settings in your advertising campaigns, the price of a lead from Yandex. Direction will fall.

If this happens, tell us about these changes in the comments to the article. it The best way thank the author for the useful features. Deal?

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